Designing eVTOL for the Mission


Dr. Wayne Johnson 

Dr. Wayne Johnson 

Wayne works in the Aeromechanics Branch of NASA Ames Research Center and is the author of the comprehensive analysis CAMRADII and the rotorcraft design code NDARC; and the books “Helicopter Theory” (1980 Princeton University Press, 1994 Dover Publications) and “Rotorcraft Aeromechanics” (2013 Cambridge University Press).

He is a Fellow of AIAA and AHS, and an Ames Fellow, and has received U.S. Army Commander’s Award for Civilian Service, NASA Medals for Exceptional Engineering Achievement and Exceptional Technology Achievement, the AHS Grover E. Bell Award, the Ames H. Julian Allen Award, the AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award, the 2010 AHS Alexander Nikolsky Honorary Lectureship, and the AHS Alexander Klemin Award. He obtained SB and SM degrees in Aeronautical Engineering, and Doctor of Science degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.